VERY slow startup – Might and Magic 3 – Isles of Terra

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Cori91
    Participant

Hello guys!

I’m new to Magic Dosbox so I got a bit puzzled here, I watched a few videos, read a few forum posts but still stuck.

Anyway I downloaded Magic Dosbox, got MM3 Isles of Terra.
    I got to launching the game, but it starts up soooo slooow. I thought it crashed or I set it up badly. But no, first it’s a black screen (guess it’s for loading) then sloowly the New World Computing logo comes up then slowly again the “Presents” word under it. But it’a so slow that again I thought it crashed.

Anyway I got there and I got stuck, not sure if I have to press any keys to get to the main menu but I’ll figure that out, the main thing is that the logo comes up so slow I guess the game will be this slow too. I tried to change te cpu cycles but If i go to expert mode and change it the says I have mount it at start up so I’m not sure what’s up.

Any help from the DOS afficionados here? Thank you!

Cori91
    Participant

Nobody? 🙁

I have tried MM 4-5 World of Xeen. And it is working fine! So I’m not sure what’s up with Isles of Terra.

admin
    Keymaster

Hi,

Mm3 must work fine. Let the performance in game profile on automatic. The only thing what comes on my mind is that the game what you downloaded has is set to different sound card then you have in game profile (game profile is setup of your emulated machine). Run install.exe from mm3 directory and set it to sound blaster 16.

Cori91
    Participant

It is running with Soun blaster 16, although in the conf file under sblaster there’s sbtype=SB2. Although even if I change the sound card to SB 2.0 it’s still very slow.

Performance is automatic too.

🙁

admin
    Keymaster

Hm, in game profile – scroll to main program and press button “get”. Generate expert config and paste it here please.

Cori91
    Participant

Alright I got it. Hope it helps!

[dosbox]
    memsize=16