SM-N910P Galaxy note 4, windows freezes, dos works fine.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Jeff213
    Participant

I have been using dos emulators on android for 4 years now. I started with AnDosBox, switched to dosbox turbo, and switched again to magic dosbox.

I have been unable to get the win 32 emulation working on my galaxy note 4. The system will load windows, I can even start fallout, but no matter what I change in the settings, windows will freeze up after a few minutes. Does anyone have any ideas? These freezes happen with both dosbox turbo and magic dosbox.

I recently switched from stock note 4 to a custom rom/kernel and still have the exact same issue. Is there some hardware incompatibility with my phone?

I can load up windows 3.11 and play games well, it hardly ever crashes.

admin
    Keymaster

Hello,

I am sorry for late answer. Hard to say what could be wrong. Dosbox supports win9.x unofficialy. But I personally dont have problems with win95 and I play various games. Problem may be in drivers, magic dosbox has not implemented ethernet or voodoo card support. I recommend to follow video guide on our youtube channel and install fresh win95 based on this guide. 1.5 year ago I installed win95 this way and until now I use it on tablet with mDosbox without big issues.

The video guide has three parts.

Best regards,
    Tony

Al ex
    Keymaster

I’ve got a Note 4 N910F, which is pretty much the same phone as yours, with the same chipset/cpu.
    I have no troubles at all running Win95. But it’s a custom Win95 installation. I remember having incredibly annoying freezing and crashing issues with the Win95 & Win98lite installations from Roland Deschain’s xda site. Are you by any chance using one of these versions? If so, then they are to blame. Try a clean Win95 install from a Win95 CD, that should work.

Jeff213
    Participant

Thanks, I will try a custom install.

Jeff213
    Participant