Ultima Underworld installation?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Reminiscence
    Participant

Hi,

I just bought Ultima Underworld 1 + 2 on gog.com. Downloaded the two games which are .exe files, but the question is how do I install them on my Android in MagicBox? I’m new to this so excuse my ignorance.

admin
    Keymaster

These exe files provides by GoG are usually windows installers. You must install them first on your pc with windows. Then go to installation folder and copy it to android device. Beware to rename folder to at maximum 8 characters if gog creates longer.

Reminiscence
    Participant

Tried that now, but it seems to have no basic exe files to install or to run the game, instead they place it automatically in their own software with its own dosbox app. A .gog file. It works on my PC but it’s a no-go on my tablet. Any idea what next? Thanks!

admin
    Keymaster

Gog uses dosbox for running ultima, that’s why there is dosbox folder. Copy installation folder to your tablet. Then, inside this folder is dosbox config file. Open it and under [autoexec] section are commands what must be applied to magic dosbox, but with fixed paths, based on your tablet. If there are common autoexec commands then is not necessary use mDosbox’s expert settings, is enough setup everything through GUI. Are you familiar with dosbox config?

Reminiscence
    Participant

Nope. It’s all foreign to me.

Thanks for taking the time and effort to help out though.

admin
    Keymaster

No problem

In windows, right click on game shortcut a open properties. There should be path to exe file. It looks like command line, behind exe are additional parametrrs, one should start -config or -conf. Behind this param is name of dosbox config file. Find it in installarion folder, open and copy/paste here its content

Reminiscence
    Participant

Here goes:

[autoexec]
    # Lines in this section will be run at startup.
    cls
    mount C “..”