Finetuning movements Rise of the Triad

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    mentalbass
    Participant

Dear reader,

My favorite game Rise of the Triad runs nicely on Magic Dosbox. I used images form a doom overlay to put in movement buttons in ROTT. First of, works fine 🙂
    But now i want a more finer controlset in Rott. Sort of “Mouslike” aim ans shooting part at right of the screen, and a Forward/Backward + Strafe left right Jotstick movement left.
    Now i have a normal “master of puppet”left and shooting button right.
    See picture for details.
    ROTT Movement
    (If the image doesn’t show up, open the link in new window)

Can someone help or explain how to do this, so for I did’t manage to pull this off.
    Thanks for your help.

admin
    Keymaster

Hi, you can check duke3d layout, maybr it can help

mentalbass
    Participant

Hey great ?

First I need to say I’m a noob. So downloading this zip file gives me questions like: wheres the mpc file? If I unpack the zip it showes me a directory and files. No mpc, what to do?
    Second can I just implement this layout over rottggame? And then tweak it?

Thanks for the advice

admin
    Keymaster

Hi,

In main menu is ‘+’ and there you can import mgc file. But free version cannot do it. After import you can freely modify it for other game.

Best regards

mentalbass
    Participant

Thanks,

I used your overlay in ROTT.
    One question about aiming.
    You have your movement left (back, forth and strafe). How do you get a movement right so you can aim and shoot?

When I touch the screen it already aims but it’s not fast enough to turn left or right.

So goal is to have your duke movement left and an aiming pad(simple left/right pad) on the rightside right to shoot. How do I do this?
    I’ve read something over a mouse look left/right?

Many thanks again for the help.

admin
    Keymaster

I can look at this, but it takes me one two days, i am now off

mentalbass
    Participant